# Eastmorland Community Association (ECA) annual meeting, 6/3/2018 (notes by Kris Whitman)

Attendants: 16 people, including six directors and Alder David Ahrens; see sign-up sheet for names.

#### Welcome and initial announcements:

Each attendee introduced himself/herself and gave a bit of information, including the street they live on and how long they've lived in the neighborhood. Cake, ice cream and beverages were served.

Kathy Soukup thanked everyone for attending, with a special emphasis on volunteers. She said the ECA would not run without volunteers, including officers, directors and people who distribute the Hi Neighbor newsletter to block captains, who in turn deliver it to 1,683 households. She said the print version is important because many residents do not have internet access. Hi Neighbor is produced by: managing editor: Emil Hoelter; layout/design editor: Rebecca Lin; advertising: Dan Zimmerman; editorial assistants: Bobbi Nowak, Romelle Witkins. Kathy mentioned that past issues have featured historic homes in the neighborhood, and she knows of several homes that would be interesting to feature.

Several members noted that monthly ECA meetings often get off track and run long. Fred Svensson suggested scheduling a social time after meetings, but ending the meeting at 8:30 pm or earlier. Patrick Soukup suggested making sure each person speaking, including guest speakers, can finish their topic before others ask questions or interrupt.

## **Elections:**

Officers are elected annually; directors have staggered terms. Unless noted, these people said they would run again:

## • 2017-18 Officers:

- President: Kathy Soukup
- Vice President: Fred Svensson
- o Secretary: Pat Schneider (wishes to end her participation as an officer and director)
- Treasurer: Dan Zimmerman

## • 2017-2018 Directors:

- o Carrie Ezzell
- o Elise Gokey (wishes to end her participation as a director)
- o Bobbi Nowak
- Pat Schneider (wishes to end her participation as an officer and director)
- o Kathy Soukup
- o Patrick Soukup
- Fred Svensson
- Kris Whitman (willing to run again, but her term was not ending as of 2018 elections)
- o Dan Zimmerman

#### • Members who were willing to be added to the 2018 ballot:

- o Grant Foster
- Bryn Thompson

The following people were elected by unanimous verbal vote, and directors voted to establish the following officers:

- 2018-2019 Officers:
  - President: Kathy Soukup
  - Vice President: Fred Svensson
  - Secretary: Dan Zimmerman
  - Treasurer: Dan Zimmerman
- 2018-2019 Directors:
  - Carrie Ezzell (in absentia)
  - Grant Foster
  - o Bobbi Nowak
  - o Kathy Soukup
  - Patrick Soukup
  - o Fred Svensson
  - o Bryn Thompson
  - Kris Whitman
  - o Dan Zimmerman

**Presentation of Service Plaque:** On behalf of Carrie Ezell, Dan Zimmerman presented a plaque to Kathy and Patrick Soukup to honor and thank them for their many years of service to the ECA.